“Why, oh, why, did the zebra wear pyjamas!?” performed by a cactus

===

This was one of my favourite songs as a kid. It is taken from the children’s show Kishkashta (actually, it was a character in the show Ma Pitohm! (“What on Earth!”), the star of which was a misanthropic and self-loathing muppet/puppet felt cactus (this is evident in the opening sequence of each song in which Kishkashta sings “I sing by myself, I dance by myself, I tell stories alone. And then I clap my hands, to whom? To myself.”)

===

===

During one of my earlier visits to Israel, I triumphantly discovered that my old pal had been immortalised in stamp form:

Kishkashta the Self-Loathing Felt Cactus now works for the Dairy Board.

The maker of the cactus puppet is known for making the puppet at his home.

Leave a Reply

